I Chose The Road Less Traveled And Now I Don’t Know Where I Am…

golfpro

Jason runs over and gives me a huge bear hug. There is no doubt that if I weren’t taking the transfusions, he would have cracked my ribs.

“Ivan! Oh my god! You look thirty years younger! Island life sure as hell agrees with you.” I just smiled and that was forced.

“You look pretty good yourself Jason. I see you are a regular at the gym.”

“Ivan I can’t begin to tell you. I’m living downtown now on Spruce Street, you know one of those luxury rentals? We have a fitness center in the building. They raised the fee from $500 a year to $180 a month? Can you believe that?” I just smirked to myself. “Well wait until you see what we have in store for you. It’s not exactly the Ritz, but it’s comfortable.” I continued to giggle to myself. He really became a spoiled brat.

“Well Jason from what I’ve been hearing about the real estate market, I’m not surprised. Now you must be famished. Let’s get you settled and introduce you to the islands finest cuisine. I hope you like fish,” and with that I took his bag, swung it over my shoulder and walked arm in arm towards the islands most “glamorous” hotel. “Wow! I see you’ve been working out as well,” he exclaimed. I laughed this time out loud.

Since Jason was now used to an extravagant lifestyle and state of the art amenities, I’m sure Hotel Umon was perhaps a major disappointment. Our gym consists of a few weights and whatever machines were donated from some health club that was going out of business in Australia. Not exactly Gold’s Gym if you catch my drift.

When we arrived at the hotel the look on Jason’s face was priceless. Although everything is new on the island, we had to make due with little or no finances. So luxury to us has a very different meaning as opposed to someone like Jason who is used to the finer things in life. In his eyes this place is considered less than a dump. It’s a hellhole.

Stay tuned…

https://thezfactor1.wordpress.com

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and The Poster Reads; ACTIVE SHOOTER EVENT, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in Chronicle, Graphic novel, LGBT, Science Fiction, The Z Factor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Chose The Road Less Traveled And Now I Don’t Know Where I Am…

  1. How do Umons interpret drag – now that there is an interest in such?

    Like

  2. cherylgross says:

    Since they are combined genders, it is indeed something that boggles the mind. Right now they embrace the clothing of both sexes. This at some point I’m sure will change. To what degree I don’t know yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

