Karma…Life’s Little Way Of Saying “Let’s See How The Fuck You Like It?”

smokeandrain copy

“Ivan I have bad news.” He was sweating profusely. “Clair Enterprises has fallen on dark times. We have not been selling like we used to and the art world is very different these days. The buyers all go to the art fairs and quite frankly they are very expensive to attend. We don’t have the staff we used to, so it’s been very hard to maintain the business. I had to let people go, and I’ve consulted our lawyer who suggested we file for bankruptcy. Chapter 11 if you plan to return, and or Chapter 7 if you don’t.”

My blood was past boiling. “You asshole!” I shouted, “How could you allow this to happen?” And with that I flew across the table, grabbed him by the neck and started to squeeze. I had every intention of killing him, but the wait staff came running (just in time) and pulled me off. It took at least three if not four umons to hold me down. This must have been a sight to behold, their most valued champion acting like a maniac. When I look back on it now, it was rather embarrassing.

Jason was stunned. I don’t think he expected my reaction to be so violent. Like I said the transfusions had altered my basic state of being including my strength and needed to be adjusted. I was loosing my ability to remain calm and rational. Given the circumstance who could blame me? The umons sat on me long enough for me to calm down. I got up, brushed myself off and just glared at him.

“So now that you have managed to murder our business, MY BUSINESS, the business that took a lifetime to build. What are your plans Jason? Are you going to work for Gagosian?” He was in shock but managed to answer the question. “Ivan, I am so sorry. I have had offers but…”

“But what?” I was fuming. “But I thought it best we discuss this while I’m here so when I return home we have a plan of action. I think Saachi is interested.”

“Saachi? Really Jason? Oh and by the way, what makes you think you are returning home?”

Stay tuned…

http://thezfactor1.wordpress.com

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in Chronicle, Graphic novel, LGBT, Science Fiction, The Z Factor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

