Good Health Is Merely The Slowest Possible Rate At Which One Can Die.

logo

The phone rang exactly 3 times before he picked up. “ Ivan, bonjour mon ‘ami. How are things in sunny Karpland?” Again no matter what time or day, the fact that Miro always answers the phone never ceases to amaze me. Even before cell phones became so widely used, he would always pick up on the third ring.

“Ah Miro, where to begin is the question. “ There was a pause before he spoke. “Yes, it’s a huge undertaking and from what is said, you remain triumphant no?” “Well” I replied, “that depends who you ask. We have a lot going on and I have to say I miss being in the states. But yes, we have come a long way in such a short period of time.” I was feeling hesitant to ask his assistance. I know Miro likes to get paid and I never stiffed him. As a matter of fact I would always throw in a few thousand as a special thank you. Now I’m broke and can’t afford his fees, but I don’t see any other alternative.

“Miro, I’ll get to the point. We have a situation here concerning the Nigerians you sent over way back when we were smuggling guns onto the islands. Apparently one decided to flex his muscle. So much so he is planning a coup. To tell you the truth, I don’t think we are prepared for such a violent encounter. Maybe a small one but this guy is a fucking monster. He will kill us and it won’t be pretty.” My voice was a bit shaky and I was having a hard time controlling it. I hoped it wasn’t coming across over the phone but hopefully that would aid to my plea. “Which one mon ami?” He said calmly. “Ash. He is a tyrant, a thief and a loonatic. His method of regulating the islands is that of a terrorist. He revels in executing people. He and his band of police have been bullying the tourists, so much so that I’m afraid that aspect of our will disappear. We can’t afford to lose any more resources. The fact that we had to relinquish the marijuana fields was an unspeakable blow to our economy. We are still trying to recover and honestly, it ain’t been easy. Miro I don’t want to beg but I have no money and I fear for my life. I fear for the lives of my friends, my child and my children’s children. Not to mention it will tear down all we have accomplished. I’m only brave to a certain point and I have succeeded my limit. Can you help me?” I wasn’t used to being humble or asking for help. This is a big step for me and I was very scared. For the first time in my life I couldn’t outsmart or outmaneuver my opponent. I knew I would have to give up a lot if Miro would agree to help for little or no money. “You’re plea touches my heart mon ami. But as you know I run a business. However we share a history and you have been an exceptional client. If you agree I believe we can work out a deal. I have a proposition for you that will benefit both of us.

Stay tuned….

http://www.thezfactor1.wordpress.com

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and The Poster Reads; ACTIVE SHOOTER EVENT, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in art, Chronicle, exhibition, Graphic novel, LGBT, Science Fiction, The Z Factor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good Health Is Merely The Slowest Possible Rate At Which One Can Die.

  1. cherylgross says:

    Reblogged this on The Z Factor and commented:

    story continues…

    Like

Leave a Reply

