Behind Every Bitch There Is Just A Sweet Woman Who Got Sick Of Bullshit

botleft3

I don’t think I had been this scared since the revolution took place and Crunch tried to kill me. It was Ash who saved my ass from that crazy Nazi which makes me wonder. Did power corrupt him, was he always this crazy or did he snap? I owed Ash big time for saving my life, but times had changed and so did our relationship. I have a fair amount of guilt surrounding this nightmare. I suppose I could blame the transfusions, but Ash was showing his dark side way before they were implemented. This and a whole lot of other things were going through my mind as I watched the swarm of drones get closer and continue their assault.

The umons were prepared. We had gotten a new shipment of metal garbage cans to distribute around the park. They took the lids and used them like a sheild, (I was wondering where all the lids went.) This prevented the bullets from penetrating their bodies but the grenades were another story. Our side was armed with semi automatic weapons (thanks to Miro) and was successful in shooting down a fair amount of drones. A few turned and started to retreat, that’s when Ash turned his focus on his own people and started shooting at them. “No one gets out alive.” He shouted. “This battle is all or nothing. No traitors and no cowards are allowed in my army.” I was impressed with his zealous determination and of course at the same time, I needed a drink. Then out of nowhere came this little person dressed in full combat gear dragging this huge bazooka-type weapon. The umons jumped in to help. After it was set up the person sat down behind it, took aim and fired hitting Ash and knocking him off his drone. He came swirling down and hit the ground with a huge thud. When the rest of his army saw this they turned and left. He was out cold. The umons hurried over and ripped off his clothing. They wanted to make certain he was not hiding any weapons. They proceeded to securely shackled and wrapped him in chains, making sure that this time he could not break loose. The person who shot him down stood up and took off their helmet. To my surprise it was Evelyn. Evelyn the scared dossal little woman who ran into hiding was back and this time with a vengeance. “I couldn’t let him bully me anymore. That’s not why I’m here. I left the U.S. for a new life, a second chance. I’ll be dammed if anyone will take that away from me.” She was adamant. I could not control my enthusiasm. “Evelyn you saved the day. I thought when you went into hiding you were gone for sure.” I could not stop hugging her. Then I realized her vibes felt different. I stopped and looked her in the eye. “Where have you been?”

“Ivan I took refuge in Ludwigshafen. I figured it was a good place. Since there is so much construction going on, there is a lot of places to hide. And I must say there is something to this U-Buzz drink. I started dipping into it out of boredom but now I may just make it part of my morning smoothie. Did you know it comes in a variety of flavors and there are two different kinds, strong and extra strong. I prefer the extra strong chocolate flavored one. And oh my god Ivan, I feel thirty years younger. I don’t think I would have had the bravado to do what I did just now if it were not for this drink. I have to hand it to Ash. He was definitely onto something when he started the transfusions.” She was so proud of herself. That’s the upside. The downside is that she has changed and is vanishing into the world of what Karpland has created which in my opinion is a mess. Until it can be regulated U-Buzz has all the attributes associated with the problems we were having with the transfusions, including senseless aggression and borderline personality disorder. I’m glad to have her back but this is not the Evelyn I once knew. Sometimes I want to go back in time and punch myself in the face.

Stay tuned…

botleft2

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in art, Chronicle, exhibition, Graphic novel, LGBT, Science Fiction, The Z Factor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

