Putting In Your Two Weeks Notice Is Basically Saying “I’d Like To Leave Right Now But I Think I’ll Just Stay Here And Not Give A Fuck A Couple More Weeks.”

Bathroom

Never did I mind being alone with my thoughts but lately it has become unpleasant for me to sift through all the shit in my head. I try to stay focused and plow through my emotional discourse for the sake of building a new empire in this godforsaken place. I certainly have my hands full. Lately everything either scares or annoys me especially if I miss my three P.M. cocktail. That tiny bit of pleasure makes life a little easier to tolerate.

Living here has taught me that I can’t rely on my old tactics; therefore I am constantly inventing new ways to manipulate situations. This became apparent during the Drone Attacks after Evelyn revealed herself. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy she feels more comfortable, but her personality has changed and not for the better. She is very opinionated, full of rage and a bit of a bully. Hopefully once she gets her U-Buzz adjusted, this will taper off, but right now I can’t stand to be around her. I miss the times when we would sit together and have a few drinks. Now when she drinks, she stares stare into space and stews for several minutes not saying a word. Then all of a sudden she blurts out something absurd. Apparently she hears what she wants and fills it with misconceptions. The last time we were together she got up and stormed off. That was a few weeks ago. Reminds me of when I tried my hand at Internet dating. It was like being in one of those pharmaceutical commercials. People should come with a disclaimer; the side effects are much worse than the your actual disease. Personally I wish my life had background music so I could tell what the hell is going on. Having so few people to talk to around here, I can’t help but morn the loss of our friendship. However in the scheme of things, I have bigger fish to fry.

In the meantime Ash is in a holding pen that is virtually escape proof. It’s part of an old Receiving Building referred to as “The Toilet.” The Toilet was used to admit umons onto the island. The lower part of the building was converted, secured and used for solitary confinement. That’s where we are keeping Ash who by the way is anything but quiet. He keeps howling like a cat in heat. I assume he is detoxing from the transfusions and that’s why he is so loud and noisy. It’s disgusting to listen to but I suppose it has to run its course.

The other night I had another Dumpster Dream. This worries me because I have not heard from Renaldo in over two weeks. I now realize that the dream is a premonition concerning the migration to Aleppo. The last report didn’t sound too pretty, but wherever umon blood is spilled, the Z factor will prevail …

Stay tuned…

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and The Poster Reads; ACTIVE SHOOTER EVENT, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in art, Chronicle, exhibition, Graphic novel, LGBT, Science Fiction, The Z Factor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

