I Love You Because We Hate The Same Stuff Continued…

WalArtlogo

I believe it was a Tuesday when I finally was able to corner Aaron and ask why it was taking so long to develop the U~BUZZ synthetic. As usual he was his passive aggressive self. “Ivan,” he began with his traditionally irritating tone, “The reason is obvious. First of all I was and still am very much against this whole converting humans into ‘uberhumans’ idea. The transfusions are morally wrong, extremely unhealthy and in most cases have proven to be a complete train wreck. The only reason why I agreed to any of this in the first place, is because we need to keep you healthy and around for as long as possible. You’re the only one who can maneuver our situation here on the islands. And now thanks to you, we are in the ‘sports drink’ business. Whether you care or not, we are about to release an extremely dangerous substance into the world. First of all we are globally continuing to spread the Z factor to unsuspecting innocent people as well as poisoning them. I know I can be naïve and completely narcissistic at times, but I try to take responsibility for my actions. I feel guilty as shit and have never known a moments peace in my entire life.” He turned away and sighed. “I probably never will.”

I just stood there and glared at him. “Look drama queen, you are about to exceed the limits of my medications.” I said sarcastically. “Since we both are culprits in altering the human race, let’s at least build a healthier economy for Karpland and negotiate a better lifestyle for everyone. Perhaps we can even get the hell out of here? Aaron I really want to return to New York. We can control the islands from an office in Mid-town.” I was trying to keep relatively calm but it wasn’t easy. “Ivan” he said sharply, “we can barely control the islands from here. Besides I don’t want that thieving WalArt Company you’re in bed with to bully us into selling them the U~BUZZ patent. They will force us to give them control over the formula, close the plant and turn Ludwigshafen into luxury condos. Then what? They’ll have U~BUZZ manufactured in China, the same as they do with all the other products they’ve stolen. Then the umons can kiss their jobs and housing goodbye. Besides Ivan lets be real. You know as well as I that I will never be able to leave here. As fucked up as Karpland is, it’s the only place I am safe, whatever the hell that means. I’ve committed myself to correct this erroneous act that continues to grow like a cancer. All I can say to your question as to why it’s taking so fucking long to come up with a synthetic? FUCK YOU!!” And with that he stormed off leaving a trail of dust just like the ones in an old spaghetti western.

I could see his point and he was pretty dead on. Maneuver is a good word but I prefer manipulate. When life gives you lemons, basically you’re fucked up, so manipulate is a more accurate description of our situation. Needless to say our work here isn’t over.

Stay tuned…

About cherylgross

Illustrator and author of the Z Factor. Professor Pratt Institute and Bloomfield College. Motion graphic collaborations with poet Nicelle Davis include: In The Circus Of You, Becoming Judas and Circe, travel the video poetry festival circuit. See resume at www.cmgross.com/pages/resume.htm for other accomplishments.
This entry was posted in art, Chronicle, exhibition, Graphic novel, LGBT, Science Fiction, The Z Factor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

